Made in Chelsea

Chelsea is found in west London and is an affluent suburb, most famously known for being the location of hit reality TV show ‘Made in Chelsea’.

1._MIC_MAIN

I started my journey by arriving at Sloan Square Underground station. The station is a the end of King’s Road, which is the major street that flows through Chelsea. Being another beautiful day in London, I took off walking west on King’s Road in my semi-high heel boots – of course I had to look my best when visiting such a high class area – which leads to vital tip number eight while travelling:

Tip 8: Always wear practical shoes when sightseeingespecially when you don’t exactly know where you are heading in the first place.

2014-01-19 13.44.53

My final destination was going to be ‘Bluebird Café’, which my friend Taylor insisted was a must see because of its role in the reality show. I unfortunately did not check the location or distance of this café prior to embarking on my adventure. Luckily it was only a 30 minute walk – well technically 45 minutes with my shoes. As I was about to give up on finding the café and walking into the first food retailer for my much needed coffee, I saw the sign ‘Bluebird’ on the other side of the street and fought traffic to get myself inside ASAP.

2014-01-19 13.35.48

If you’re wondering, unlike in Australia, jaywalking is not actually illegal in the UK. It’s a crazy culture clash and there are many instances where people from the UK have visited other countries and have been arrested for jaywalking.

49158361

So, as I was basking in the deliciousness of my coffee it struck me how quiet and small this ‘Bluebird Café’ was. It was only at this point that I looked out the window and saw the ‘real’ Bluebird Café across the way and realised I was in fact only in the Bluebird Epicerie.

2014-01-19 13.36.03

So essentially, I had not been able to experience the Bluebird Restaurant because at this point I had chickened out from walking over and sitting at a table alone for some lunch. I guess it will just have to be another destination I must return to when my friend comes to Europe for the summer!

2014-01-19 13.53.13

I did however, discover the most amazing looking and tasting desert café on my return journey back to Sloan Square. Leto Caffe even from the outside looks like heaven, they have the largest range of hand-made cakes and savoury delicacies that will just melt in your mouth. A definite must visit restaurant while in Chelsea.

2014-01-19 14.02.42

