Cambridge

Cambridge. Another incredible college town, found approximately 2 hours drive from Oxford. Founded in 1209 the University of Cambridge is ranked consistently as one of the top 5 universities in the world. The town boasts buildings as amazing as those in Oxford but on a much grander scale!

2014-02-22 17.12.30

The River Cam is a magnificent sight, especially on such a delightful day. I would like to return to my previous travel tip 4 on ensuring that you research images prior to posting on social media. I guess it’s helpful that others seem to want to further my education by hinting that my Instagram hashtags are not quite correct. I guess now I know and can research the Mathematic Bridge of Cambridge, which I allegedly saw and which actually has a pretty cool story.

2014-02-25 16.00.19

The Backs has another incredible riverside view onto the famous Kings College.

river cam

Kings College is breathtaking. It is regarded as one of the greatest examples of late Gothic English architecture. As the sun goes down, the side panels of the building are lit up in extraordinary colours. In the images, you may think it either looks very tacky or photoshopped, but I guess you just have to take my word for it when I say that it is simply a magical experience in person.

2014-02-22 17.35.11

Again we managed to sneak a peak into one of the colleges in town. There was some sort of graduation ceremony happening at the same time, so we were fortunate to see a bunch of happy students dressed in graduation robes and their very proud parents snapping lots of photos of the occasion.

Tip 6: Map out where you would like to visit in Cambridge before you go. Make sure you take a map with you too because you will inevitably get lost.

Similar to a tip I’ve shared previously, is to ensure you have a map of the area you are visiting. Unfortunately, because we got so lost on our adventure in Cambridge, we couldn’t find the law faculty or even the coach station where we got dropped off. I later realised that the reason we couldn’t find the College of Law was because we didn’t even make it to that side of town.

20131003 - Roster Allocation Schedule - 2013-14 Events

As fellow law students however, Shristi and I still managed to locate and take a photo with the Cambridge Magistrates Court. This will at least satisfy us until we have a chance to return.

